Custom Lockdown deployment

Aug 6, 2012 at 3:37 PM

Hi Marc,

I've deployed your lockdown tool on WSS3.0 using stsadm however I'm not sure how you go able activating it on a site collection. I'd like to secure our forms and pages like the All People pages etc and though your wsp may addrress this. Can you pleae assist?

Regards

Coordinator
Oct 2, 2012 at 2:22 AM
Edited Oct 2, 2012 at 2:31 AM

Hi sorry for the late answer. 

Normally the feature is installed at the deployment time, but, yes, the feature is not activated.

you have to activate it manually.
You can only do it by using stsadm tool, because I have hidden the feature for it not to be displayed in the SharePoint UI.

Hope that helps. 

Marc

Nov 26, 2012 at 9:45 AM

Hi Marc,

I'm a relative newbie to Sharepoint.  I've been trying to deploy your solution but seem to be going around in a circle.  I attempted to deploy using stsadm -o deploysolution -name ViewFormPagesLockDownCustomFeature_1.0.0.0.wsp -url http://87.198.210.34/ -immediate.  I get a message "needs to install assemblies in the Global Assembly Cache (GAC).  Use allowGACDeployment to deploy.  When I use "stsadm -o deploysolution -name ViewFormPagesLockDownCustomFeature_1.0.0.0.wsp -url http://87.198.210.34/ -immediate -allowGACDeployment " I am getting error message "This solution contains no resources scoped for a Web application and cannot be deployed to a particular Web application."  I'd appreciate any help you could give me.

Thanks,

Norrie

Coordinator
Nov 26, 2012 at 3:45 PM

Hi Norrie, 

it is a thing not easy to understand with SharePoint deployment. You can deploy to a particular Web Application only if there is something in the package that will add files or modify the files in the Web Application directory especially the web.config file. If I quickly think, I see a few cases :